History of SAXBO

SAXBO

All around the Saxon-Bohemian Orienteering Days there are many different myths and stories. The connecting element has always been the desire to act together and across borders in orienteering in the region.

Even before the first run of the SAXBO, orienteers from Germany and the Czech Republic met for joint activities. At an autumn orienteering event at the beginning of the 90s, the starting fee consisted of a hop-containing cold drink. Even then, the participants travelled in several buses to take part in an orienteering race in the region and to exchange ideas with like-minded people.

The first official SAXBO took place in 1993. After an idea of Miroslav Horaček the goal was to organize a "run without borders". At this two-day event 664 participants started one day each in the Czech Republic and in Germany.

In 1995 the competitions were used by numerous national runners from Norway, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic and Germany as a direct preparation for the World Championships in Detmold in August. The starting list includes such names as Petter Thoresen, Carsten Jørgensen, Rudolf Ropek, Katalin Oláh, Tenna Norgaard or Raghnild Bente Andersen. A total of 873 participants from 12 nations took part.

In 1997, for the first time, there was a special permit of both border authorities, which allowed the Czech starters to walk across the "green border" in Jonsdorf. At a time when the Czech Republic was not even in the EU, 919 participants ran at the SAXBO.

In 2000, 970 participants made their way to the SAXBO. Quite a few of them saw the runs as preparation for the German Championships in the classical distance, which were held at the end of the year in Oybin.

In 2006 it was actually a cross-border competition for the first time. Starting from the competition centre in Lückendorf, the border was crossed several times during the 3-stage orienteering. For this a special permit had to be applied for at the border authorities of both countries.

Since then, there have been up to 1000 registrations for the event every year.

In 2019, the 1000 mark was blown up in the results list for the first time. A total of 1045 orienteers enjoyed the competitions in the rocky areas around Lückendorf.

Geschichte SAXBO

SAXBO

Rund um die Sächsisch-Böhmischen Orientierungslauf-Tage ranken sich die unterschiedlichsten Mythen und Geschichten. Das verbindende Element ist seit jeher der Wunsch beim Orientierungslauf in der Region grenzübergreifend und gemeinsam zu agieren.

Schon vor dem ersten Lauf zur SAXBO trafen sich die Orientierungsläufer aus Deutschland und Tschechien zu gemeinsamen Aktivitäten. Bei einem Herbst-OL Anfang der 90er Jahre bestand das Startgeld noch aus einem hopfenhaltigen Kaltgetränk. Schon damals reisten die Teilnehmer in mehreren Bussen an, um einen Orientierungslauf in der Region zu absolvieren und sich mit Gleichgesinnten auszutauschen.

Die erste offizielle SAXBO fand im Jahr 1993 statt. Nach einer Idee von Miroslav Horaček bestand das Ziel einen „Lauf ohne Grenzen“ zu organisieren. Bei dieser zweitägigen Veranstaltung starteten 664 Teilnehmer jeweils einen Tag in Tschechien und in Deutschland.

1995 nutzten die Wettkämpfe dann zahlreiche Nationalläufer aus Norwegen, Dänemark, Ungarn, Polen, Tschechien und Deutschland als direkte Vorbereitung auf die im August in Detmold stattfindende WM. In der Startliste finden sich solche Namen wie Petter Thoresen, Carsten Jørgensen, Rudolf Ropek, Katalin Oláh, Tenna Norgaard oder Raghnild Bente Andersen. Es starteten insgesamt 873 Teilnehmer aus 12 Nationen.

1997 gab es dann erstmals eine Sondergenehmigung beider Grenzbehörden, welche eine Anreise der tschechischen Starter in Jonsdorf zu Fuß über die „grüne Grenze“ gestattete. Zu einer Zeit, wo Tschechien noch nicht mal in der EU war, liefen 919 Teilnehmer bei der SAXBO.

2000 nahmen dann 970 Teilnehmer den Weg zur SAXBO auf sich. Nicht wenige davon sahen die Läufe als Vorbereitung auf die Deutschen Meisterschaften über die Klassikdistanz, welche Ende des Jahres in Oybin ausgetragen wurden.

2006 war es dann erstmals tatsächlich ein grenzüberschreitender Wettkampf. Ausgehend vom Wettkampfzentrum in Lückendorf wurde beim 3-Etappen-OL mehrfach die Grenze passiert. Dazu musste eine Sondergenehmigung bei den Grenzbehörden beider Staaten beantragt werden.

Seitdem gibt es Jahr für Jahr bis zu 1000 Meldungen für die Veranstaltung.

Im Jahr 2019 wurde dann erstmalig auch in der Ergebnisliste die 1000er-Marke gesprengt. Insgesamt 1045 Orientierungsläufer genossen die Wettkämpfe in den Felsgebieten rund um Lückendorf.